BFF: Best Friends (Forever?)

Hello Everyone!

When growing up, you can have so many types of friendships in your life. Some last longer than others, some mean more to you, and some unfortunately, are to teach you to be highly selective with who you trust. Personally, I have had so many friends in my lifetime that did not stick (especially in high school.) Now don’t misinterpret what I’m saying; it’s not like there was a huge “dramatic breakup between friends.” There were no “mean girls” situations or turning against one another with the ultimate betrayal. It just so happened that after graduation we learned that the only thing that we all had in common was the fact that we were stuck at the same school for 7 hours a day. My two closest friends at the time and I have spoken MAYBE twice via social media and only once in person since I graduated three years ago.  Do I still care for them? Obviously! Would I call them my best friends? Nope. That is what sucks about growing up sometimes, it isn’t just “OH! We are going to be best friends forever.” As an adult, you learn that whoever wants to be in your life puts in time and effort.

tenor (2).gif

Here is Webster’s definition:

Friend: (N) 1. One attached to another by affection or esteem. 2. One that is not hostile.

Well, dang. If that is all that it takes to be a “friend,” then my hairstylist must be my friend because she sure makes me have better esteem and my dentist makes me feel better with a cleaner smile. NO! That isn’t what a friend is. A friend loves at all times  and is always loyal (Proverbs 17:17).  They should have your back whether you are around or not.  A friend knows when to correct you and give you some tough love (Proverbs 27:6).  Or even when to be your shoulder to cry on.

635693265219054505-2136863901_giphy.gif

Friends make each other wiser (Proverbs 13:20). This verse says “Walk with the wise and become wise; associate with fools and get in trouble.” This kind of goes in hand with that mantra that says “Show me your friends and I will show you your future.” Or a similar version that says,” Show me your friends and I will show you who you truly are.” This simply put, means that the people that you choose to surround yourself with is a representation of who you are. It reflects on you. Surround yourself with wise people who will impart wisdom to you, not with fools who will tarnish your reputation.  There’s a cheesy quote that says, “Friends are the Family that you choose!” or “God made us besties because He knew our parents couldn’t handle us as sisters!” Well, the bible says that a real friend sticks closer than a brother (Proverbs 26:24). I mean, you do choose your friends. Choose some awesome ones that you love and trust who can be your second family!

carly-sam-sisters.gif

And one of my favorite verses about friendship says that “As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens the countenance of a friend.” Friends help keep each other accountable, sharpen each other, correct each other and help the other grow. A real faith friend will do that with love, support, and a couple awesome memories along the way.  They will encourage your walk with Christ and try to keep you on track. You click & just get each other.

BFF-Telephaty

I would love to hear about your godly friendships! Feel free to send me a funny story, how you met, or a selfie with your bestie on instagram! Tag me @xoleahgrace .  Also, share this with your best friend! Let them know that to you, they are the best! That they exemplify the TRUEST FRIEND EVER. Thanks so much for reading guys. I hope you have a friend you can count on unconditionally, and if you don’t, make sure to keep an eye out for these qualities in your search.

Until next time, I’m signing off with a Graceful Soul & Grateful Heart.

xo, Leah Grace

3 thoughts on “BFF: Best Friends (Forever?)

  1. PeachyKeen says:

    Thank you for writing this!
    I definitely relate to this on a very, very, personal level and it really helped me to see this from a different perspective.
    Love from Mav’s Lemons!
    -Mav-

    Like

Leave a Reply

