Summer Lovin’ (w/ Jesus)

HOLA (For you non- bilinguals aka me, that means hello.)

I am so glad to be back  with you all. I now have internet connection which has been an interesting 2 weeks without. So I am here to tell you about where I have been. Have you heard the song from Grease where Sandy and Danny are singing about meeting eachother? It goes, “Summer lovin’, had me a blast. Summer lovin’, happened so fast.” Well that describes very accurately my past few weeks. In my last post, I had mentioned that I was heading up to Yosemite for our church’s youth camp. It was absolutely amazing. We took 74 people up to camp this year, what a blessing. It takes a lot, let me repeat for emphasis, A LOT of work but it paid off in the end. Weeks of leaders putting in hours of prayer, planning, and preparation. The theme was Taste the Difference. 

screenshot_20170628-170746.png

There were so many fun things for the youth to do including messy games, horribly gross/awesome blindfolded food tasting, water balloon fights, and last but certainly not least, a COLOR FIGHT. Our church purchased two GIANT bumper balls, inflated them and put them in the ring to push the opponent out. It was hilarious to watch in person, where I refereed for a bit, but the drone footage was even funnier! Check out the recap video here: https://youtu.be/TzAtG830RZg . The teams were Team Coke vs. Pepsi.  (Coke was better, but I may just be biased. LOL.) So in order to fit the theme, a majority of the games included lots of sticky soda. The two teams went head-to-head in bobbing for marshmallows in a pool of Cola, sticky relay race (which had people drinking not only soda, but also pickle juice!!!) and a Red vs. Blue//Coke vs. Pepsi Color Powder Fight. Coke was the winner of that one, which you can probably tell by the majority of red in this picture.

IMG_20170617_220940_608

We were up there for a total of 4 days and 3 nights, but the effect that it has had on us as leaders and campers is still lingering on. I can only speak for myself, and from what others have told me, but things are only going to get better. We had such a great time and an amazing/ Holy-Spirit filled speaker Russell B. Johnson.  Personally, I was prophesied over and it brought me to tears, because it was soooo spot on, with Russell never having even met me. He talked to me about how I was “blessed with the gift of creativity from the Lord and that I just started something having to do with that creativity (THE BLOG BUT HE DOESN’T KNOW THAT), but to this day I am still unsure about it. That I need to trust in God and roll with it because He is going to use it to bless people. That he speaks fresh fire over my life and my ministry. Fresh fire on my spirituality as I continue to connect with more people.” It is absolutely crazy how much it relieved me to hear that. To this day, I deal with motivation and uncertainty regarding my blog. You know, am I called to do this? Who would want to hear anything that I have to say? What if nobody ever reads my stuff? Is it all for nothing? But if I know anything, it is that the enemy comes to steal, kill and destroy. I have already had people reach out to me multiple times about how they were glad to have found my blog and that it is a blessing to them, and I have only been doing this for a little bit of time. Those seeds of doubt were planted by the enemy to stop me from reaching people who might just need a little encouragement. I know that I myself need it also. So I am here to stay. Not to mention I was so blessed to have my little cousins go up to camp for the first time as well. The first night that I seen them worshiping and crying, I LOST IT. Them, along with the other children/ youth in this group make it all worth it. It all comes into perspective. I am blessed to have them. We are not a youth group, we are a family. We pride ourselves on that. So if your church has a summer camp, and you have never been, I encourage you to just take the plunge and go! It is so much fun and you’ll remember it forever.

20170626_183348

If you want to see, check out the recap video here: https://youtu.be/TzAtG830RZg

Until next time, I am signing off with a Graceful Soul & a Grateful Heart.

xo, Leah Grace

4 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’ (w/ Jesus)

  1. Edith says:

    Welcome back! You were certainly blessed at Youth Camp. Tapping into that for my upcoming holidays although I’d be working through some of it. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

