Sticks & Stones

Hello Everyone!

Man, what a week it has been. I try to update my blog a couple times a week, but with finals, work, and being sick, I was stretched pretty thin. I currently have a double-ear infection which hurts sooOO BAAD. Keep yo’ girl in prayer, please! Today I am going to write about one of the biggest lies that is taught to young children as they grow up. That saying is: “Sticks and Stones may break your bones, but your Words will never hurt me!” What a load of bologna. Words hurt! I can speak that from personal experience on the giving and receiving end. Our words have power. Sometimes a punch in the face would most likely hurt less than a direct strategic insult (especially if it is about something you’re already insecure about.) My pastor always says this, which is way more accurate: Sticks & stones will break your bones, but words hurt more than anything. Amen? Seriously, it is so true.

58e4940ca8960676670931a154c55243b4f49b9acef9bd585e3165e0bf265836_1.gifOne of the reasons that I wanted to write about this topic is because we have a series that is being taught right now at my church about core values. These are topics that we really hope to instill into the youth at the group where I am a leader. We have various mantras that we teach. One of the more popular ones is: Just Kidding just hurts. Meaning that sometimes the “joke isn’t worth the laugh.” The bible talks about the power of words and how we are called to speak in various different places. Why? Because clearly it is important. Example one: Proverbs 16:24 states, “Kind words are like honey– sweet to the soul and healthy for the body.”  It is healthy for the body. It brings good to your soul & it is healthy. It makes you feel good. One of my favorites though is found in Ephesians Chapter 4, verse 29. It says, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouth, but only what is helpful to the hearer, building them up according to their needs that it may be beneficial to those who listen.” 0a9f4f57317eb755e6b42b985485acebThis verse is LITERALLY saying “Hey! Every word that comes out of your mouth should be edifying (aka helpful to the people listening.)” If it isn’t building them up, making them feel better, or is beneficial to them in some way, then just zip it, lock it, & put it in your pocket. Remember what thumper said in Bambi? That is an important message. Sometimes the joke isn’t worth the laugh, sometimes those words can hurt, sometimes it will stick with the person that you say it to for a long time. Why not just use your words to make people feel good. Why not have words that are sweet like honey?  

Remember to be kind with your words. Remember to build people up with your words. James 3:5 says, “The tongue is a small thing, yet it makes grand speeches. Likewise a tiny spark can set even a great forest on fire.” A small spark, a simple statement. Both can cause great destruction when used incorrectly. One final verse to tie it all together: Colossians 4:6 “Let your conversation be full of GRACE, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Y’all know how much I try to remain full of grace and patience with this blog. This verse is saying be graceful (elegant, poised, favored,  & blessed) and to be seasoned (qualified, matured, & w/ food a little spunky LOL). In doing so, you will begin to know how to answer people. 8780c2000e9d35213c5ad04ef8eb5b67Whether they are being kind to you first or they’re being rude. You’re called to be kind, sweet, and uncorrupted. If you don’t have anything like that to say, then just don’t say anything. It’ll be waaaaay better to not talk as much than to say something that you may regret saying. If I have learned anything in my life, it is that you can’t take words back once they’re out of your mouth. So be slow to speak and when you do, make sure it’s sweet and graceful. Keep that in mind, even if you need to repeat the mantras to yourself!

Until next time, I’m signing off with a Graceful Soul and a Grateful Heart.

xo, Leah Grace

 

(PS. I read an awesome blog post http://wp.me/p8MN8O-4  by HoneytotheSoulBlog which dealt with this topic also. Check it out.)

2 thoughts on “Sticks & Stones

  1. CelinaKay says:

    Oh my goodness, yes! So many important points in this post, thank you for the wisdom! Words can indeed pierce like daggersas well as raise people from the depths of despair! I love your writin style as well! Very personable 🙂
    celinakayblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anchoredinamazinggrace says:

    Love this! I agree wholeheartedly, and you said it so well! My grandpa always said “sticks and stones” to me if my sibling said something mean or if I was upset, but it only made me feel worse because the words did in fact hurt me. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

