I’ve Never Shouted Never Before

YOU GUYS!

First of all, hello. Welcome back. I missed you. Second of all, OH MY GOODNESS. So last night I went to my first ever concert. Like ever. (Besides Christian Concerts, in that case I have been to 2 Hillsong concerts which were amazing but a totally different vibe as I am sure that you can imagine.) So, let us take a trip down memory lane to a 7th grade version of myself. 11/12 year old me was an oddball, for sure. I dressed kind of weird, listened to weird music, and thought I was scene. yes, cringe x 1000. Now I do not mean anything bad about “scene” style, it is just not my forte. I am glad to say I grew out of it. But when I wasn’t listening to strange music and watching “Charlie the Unicorn” on YouTube on repeat, I would listen to NevershoutNever! IMG_20170522_204736_028

His music has changed over the years and so I had stopped listening to him back in 2010ish. But, a few months ago he announced a throwback tour. A tour where he was going to play his old music from his first three EPs. AKA, all of the songs I obsessed over and listened to on repeat a million times.  The excitement was real. So me and a couple friends bought our tickets and ventured over yonder down to Santa Ana to watch him.  Let me just say that I was not disappointed. Every single song that he played I loved. My friend Shayla and I were tripping out, because after not listening to him for the longest time, we still were able to sing along with EVERY WORD. I was so excited; the internal twelve year old kid inside me was screaming and, now that I think about it, so was my external twenty something year old adult. LOL. The venue was strange. Never having been to a concert besides a  Christian concerts/Faith-Styled Conferences was definitely different. It smelled like cigarettes inside and there were a few tipsy people dancing around like crazy people, but other than that I was with my friends and I was happy. Not to mention I was THIS close to Christofer Drew.

IMG_20170522_232643_941It was a standing-room/ general admission venue so the places that we got were so awesome. We were really close to the stage and he hopped on the ledge and walked by us and was grabbing our hands. He also gave my friend Shayla a flower. Well, he threw it into the crowd and it hit her in the face, but it was still REALLY COOL! Every person in the room was screaming out the words along with him and he was singing all of his classics. If you know who he is then here are a few so you can girlish squeal along with me: Trouble, Happy, Big City Dreams, Can’t Stand It, and Look on the Brightside. And that is just to name a few. He played sooo many. He even bid us farewell, walked off stage at the end, then came back for an encore. He was very chill, funny, and witty. They didn’t have a specific set list. He said, “We don’t have specific songs to play, we are VERY prepared *joyous sarcasm in his voice*. So what do YOU guys want to hear?” Luckily, I am really loud so he heard me and played my request (Coffee & Cigarettes). Ironically, I hate coffee and cigarettes, but boy that is a great tune.  It was very crowd interactive and fun.  I know most concerts won’t be like this, nor do I even think I am a “concert” type of girl, really.  But I do know that I had fun, and that if I were to choose my first concert, then I am glad that this was mine. I did this for my 2007 self. I know if I could go back and tell her, she would be happy with my  decision to go.  So that was my day yesterday! Have you ever been to a concert? Who did you see? If you have an instagram post a throwback of concerts you have been to and tag me @xoleahgrace ! I would love to see them.

Until next time, I am signing off with a Graceful Soul and a Grateful Heart.

xo, Leah Grace

Leave a Reply

