The Story of the Name

Shakespeare once said, “”What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”

theelmlife_nametagpink.jpg

This quote is brilliant and timeless, though I am not the biggest fan of Romeo and Juliet as an actual storyline (but that is a whole different rant.) It rings true, right on the money. What is in a name? Well, ask a new or expecting mother and they would say A LOT. It has always been interesting to me how many people will go into so much research behind the meaning of names before they have their baby. “The Hebrew origin of this name is” …. “This name is derived from the Latin word”… trust me, I am not pointing fingers. I have mentally named all of my children that I ever plan on having, boy or girl, even backup kids and I am not even married yet.  There isn’t anything wrong with it, especially when you are a planner like me. So if you haven’t figured it out, this is the post where I tell you guys about the meaning behind my blog name!

If you have been following my blog or read my first post on this page then you know that my name is Leanne. Now, Leanne is actually a nickname from Leanna, but I spent my life introducing myself and getting in response, “What was it? Brianna? Seanna? Deanna? OHH LEANNA.” So I started going by Leanne. I figured that would be simple enough. Lee-Anne. Like from the Sandra Bullock Movie. Leanne Tuohy was a force to be reckoned with.

tumblr_mpigptaDD11sytf7ro1_500.gif

But little by little I have come to the realization that it would not suffice. One of my best friends is an amazing Christian Speaker and she invited me to an event that she was guest speaking at.  I went, mingled, drank some tea and introduced myself to various people. FIVE SEPARATE PEOPLE, AT DIFFERENT TIMES AND DIFFERENT PLACES, all thought I said my name is Leah. I ended up being entered into the raffle by that and being referred to as Leah for the day.  Oh well. LOL. Now, during my internal struggle over the past year of whether I wanted to start this blog or not, I was in prayer about it a lot and came up with the name Graceful Soul, Grateful Heart. It was my War Cry, Goal, and Mission Statement. But in considering a domain name, I figured it would be too long and I didn’t want people to mess it up and have trouble finding me, (JEEZ I BET THEY WOULD HAVE TROUBLE TRYING TO FIND BRIANNA/SEANNA/DEANNA too.) So here comes the idea, lets embrace the awkwardness of my day as Leah, combine it with the gracefulness that I strive to have through Christ, and come up with an awesome blog name. So here we are on my blog that is imperfect. It makes fun of itself in an odd sort of way, and is totally amazing because of it. I love it and I love its name. So back to the question: What’s in a name? An amazing story, that’s what. Even though it isn’t my original plan, His plan is higher than mine, and I am slowly learning to accept that and roll with it as He stretches my comfort zone.

Welcome to my blog if you are new; Welcome to the Graceful & Grateful Family.

tumblr_mjg0dlbYaV1s4afkqo4_250.gif

Until next time, I am signing off with a graceful soul and a grateful heart.

xo, Leah Grace

 

Leave a Reply

